Skip to main content

Travel Alert: U.S. to Screen Travelers from Uganda for Ebola


On Thursday, the United States announced it would immediately begin redirecting all travelers from Uganda to five domestic airports to screen them for the Ebola virus and follow up with them while in county.

This action is a precaution based on the recent outbreak of the Ebola virus in Uganda, where about 80 cases of the deadly disease have been reported to date.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention will conduct temperature checks and risk assessment on anyone who has been in Uganda over the previous 21 days, the incubation time for the deadly Ebola virus. State and local officials will follow up with those individuals for 21 days after their arrival to the U.S.

The five airports are:

  • Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport
  • Washington-Dulles International Airport
  • JFK International Airport in New York
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • Chicago-O’Hare International Airport

Duke is not aware of any faculty, staff or students currently in Uganda. Anyone with upcoming travel plans to East Africa should contact Employee Occupational Health & Wellness or Student Health in advance for guidance and enter their trip in the Duke Travel Registry, as required for all international travel supported by Duke.