Twelve Selected for A.B. Duke Scholarships

Four-year scholarships worth over $250,000

Twelve outstanding high school seniors have been awarded the prestigious Angier B. Duke Memorial Scholarship to pursue their undergraduate studies at Duke University. The Angier B. Duke Memorial Scholarship covers the full cost of tuition, room, board and mandatory fees for four years of undergraduate education. In addition, the scholarship funds six weeks of summer study at the University of Oxford and offers $5,000 to each scholar to facilitate independent research and educational enrichment. Based on estimated tuition rates over a four-year period, the scholarship is worth over $250,000. The scholarships aim to foster intellectual leadership and are awarded to students who show outstanding promise. The awards stem from the Angier B. Duke Memorial Inc., which Duke University co-founder Benjamin Newton Duke established in 1925 in memory of his son, Angier Buchanan Duke. The Angier B. Duke Scholarship’s alumni include 18 Rhodes Scholars and 13 Marshall Scholars, including renowned author and former Duke English professor Reynolds Price; Pulitzer Prize-winning novelist Ann Tyler; NASA project scientist Hal Weaver; and Dr. Lynt Johnson, chief of transplant surgery at Georgetown University Medical Center.This year’s scholarship recipients are: -- Sanjidah Ahmed of Wichita, Kan., a graduate of Wichita Collegiate School in Wichita, Kan., and daughter of Mahfuza H. Ahmed and Selim S. Ahmed;-- Samantha Marie Bouchal of Queen Creek, Ariz., a graduate of Basha High School in Chandler, Ariz., and daughter of Jennifer and Frank Bouchal;-- Madeline Fitch Briere of Mansfield Center, Conn., a graduate of Edwin O. Smith High School in Storrs, Conn., and daughter of Roslyn Holly Fitch and Daniel Dean Briere;-- Jackson Childers Dellinger of Durham, N.C., a graduate of Durham Academy in Durham, N.C., and son of Jolynn Childers Dellinger and Hampton Y. Dellinger;-- Noah Benjamin Eckberg of Woodbury, Minn., a graduate of East Ridge High School in Woodbury, Minn., and son of Deborah and Charles Eckberg;-- Kushal Tushar Kadakia of Houston, Texas, a graduate of Clear Lake High School in Houston, Texas, and son of Shilpa and Tushar Kadakia;-- Rohith Chandra Kuditipudi of Los Altos, Calif., a graduate of The Harker School in San Jose, Calif., and son of Padma Kuditipudi and K. V. Rao;-- Ekaterina Khlystova of Chapel Hill, N.C., a graduate of North Carolina School of Science and Math in Durham, N.C., and daughter of Irina P. Lebedeva and Andrei Y. Khlystov;-- Amanda Grace Morrison of Helena, Mont., a graduate of St. Paul’s School in Concord, N.H., and daughter of Catherine Wright and John Morrison;-- Claire Reanna Wang of Salt Lake City, Utah, a graduate of Rowland Hall in Salt Lake City, Utah, and daughter of Jun Lu and Haibo Eric Wang;-- Benjamin Richard Welton of Littleton, Colo., a graduate of Columbine High School in Littleton, Colo., and son of Susan and George Welton;-- Jay Wolf Zussman of Great Neck, N.Y., a graduate of Great Neck South High School in Great Neck, N.Y., and son of Nora Morgenstern and Mark Zussman.For more information about the A.B. Duke Memorial Scholarship, visit