Skip to main content

Three Faculty Elected to National Academy of Sciences

NAS members advise policy on matters of science and technology

National Academy of Sciences
National Academy of Sciences

The National Academy of Sciences announced today the election of 120 members and 30 international members in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

Established by an Act of Congress, signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863, the NAS is charged with providing independent, objective advice to the nation on matters related to science and technology.  Duke’s three new members join 28 other members of the National Academy of Sciences on the Duke faculty.  They are:

Stephen Lisberger, the George Barth Geller Distinguished Professor for Research and chair of Neurobiology in the School of Medicine

Anne Pusey, the James B. Duke Distinguished Professor Emerita of Evolutionary Anthropology in Trinity Arts & Sciences

Kate Scholberg, the Arts & Sciences Distinguished Professor of Physics in Trinity Arts & Sciences.

Those elected today bring the total number of active members to 2,512 and the total number of non-voting international members to 517.