Skip to main content

Search Committee Named for New Dean of Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

Provost Sally Kornbluth has appointed a committee to conduct the national search for Duke University’s next dean of Trinity College of Arts and Sciences, succeeding Valerie Ashby, who has been named president of the University of Maryland, Baltimore County.

The search committee will be chaired by Charlotte Sussman, professor of English. Other members of the committee are:

  • Abbas Benmamoun, Vice Provost for Faculty Advancement and Professor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies and Linguistics
  • Merlise Clyde, Professor of Statistical Science
  • Felipe De Brigard, Fuchsberg-Levine Family Associate Professor, Philosophy
  • Darren Gobert, William and Sue Gross Professor, Theater Studies
  • V. Joseph Hotz, Arts and Sciences Distinguished Professor of Economics
  • Dan Kiehart, Professor of Biology
  • Adriane Lentz-Smith, Associate Professor of History
  • Mark Anthony Neal, James B. Duke Distinguished Professor of African and African American Studies
  • Liliana Paredes, Professor of the Practice of Romance Studies
  • Deondra Rose, Associate Professor, Sanford School of Public Policy
  • Bobby Rosenbloum, Chair, Trinity College of Arts and Sciences Board of Visitors
  • Harris Solomon, Fred W. Shaffer Associate Professor, Cultural Anthropology
  • Victoria Szabo, Research Professor of Art, Art History, and Visual Studies
  • Zoe Tishaev, undergraduate student representative
  • Erika Weinthal, Professor of Environmental Policy and Public Policy
  • Jun Yang, Bishop-MacDermott Family Professor, Computer Science

Hallie Knuffman, chief of staff to the provost, will staff the search. Executive search firm Spencer Stuart will support the committee.

The search committee invites candidate nominations and comments about the position via email to All submissions will be considered confidential.