Duke Adds 21 Faculty to Distinguished Faculty Rank

Eight faculty also named to the Bass Society of Fellows

Duke University awarded 21 distinguished professorships to members of its faculty May 2 at the annual University Distinguished Professors dinner.

They are:

-- Atila Abdulkadiroğlu, Garonzik Family Professor of Economics

-- Jeremy S. Begbie, Thomas A. Langford Research Professor of Theology

-- Emily S. Bernhardt, James B. Duke Professor of Biology

-- L. Ebony Boulware, Eleanor Easley Professor of Medicine

-- L. Catherine Brinson, Sharon C. and Harold L. Yoh, III Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science

-- Steven A. Cummer, William H. Younger Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering

-- Eun-Sil (Shelley) Hwang, Mary and Deryl Hart Professor of Surgery

-- Bruce W. Jentleson, William Preston Few Professor of Public Policy

-- Aaron C. Kay, J. Rex Fuqua Professor of International Management

-- Evan Kharasch, Merel H. Harmel Professor of Anesthesiology

-- Emily M. Klein, University Distinguished Service Professor

-- Jonathan C. Mattingly, James B. Duke Professor of Mathematics

-- Felipe A. Medeiros, Joseph A. C. Wadsworth Professor of Ophthalmology

-- Kathryn R. Nightingale, Theo Pilkington Professor of Biomedical Engineering

-- Victor L. Perez, Stephen and Frances Foster Professor of Ophthalmology

-- Christoph F. Schmidt, Hertha Sponer Professor of Physics

-- William J. Steinbach, Samuel L. Katz Professor of Pediatrics

-- Peng Sun, J.B. Fuqua Professor of Business Administration

-- Paula J. Tanabe, Laurel Chadwick Professor of Nursing

-- Vahid Tarokh, Rhodes Family Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering

-- Norman Wirzba, Gilbert T. Rowe Professor of Christian Theology


In addition, eight faculty members were elected to the Bass Society of Fellows for Excellence in Teaching and Research. They are:

-- Jed W. Atkins, the E. Blake Byrne Associate Professor of Classical Studies

-- Felipe De Brigard, Fuchsberg-Levine Family Associate Professor of Philosophy

-- R. Darren Gobert, William and Sue Gross Professor of Theater Studies

-- Jen’nan G. Read, Sally Dalton Robinson Professor of Sociology

-- Adrienne Stiff-Roberts, the Jeffrey N. Vinik Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering

-- Jennifer J. Wernegreen, Lee Hill Snowdon Associate Professor of Environmental Sciences and Policy

-- Joseph R. Winters, Alexander F. Hehmeyer Associate Professor of Religious Studies

-- Michael M. Zavlanos, Mary Milus Yoh and Harold L. Yoh, Jr. Associate Professor