Nominations Sought for Keohane Visiting Professorship

Faculty and administrators at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and Duke University are invited to nominate outstanding scholars, artists, or practitioners for the Nannerl Keohane Distinguished Visiting Professorship. Nominations are welcome for academic years 2019-20 and 2020-21.  Nominations are due by Friday, Nov. 16.

Keohane professorship The Keohane Professorship is awarded to an outstanding scholar, artist or practitioner who will work to promote collaboration between the two institutions and contribute to the teaching missions of both. It recognizes the contributions of Nannerl Keohane during her term as Duke president and the level of collaboration she and former UNC Chancellor James Moeser created between these two institutions.

The scholar is expected to teach or co-teach one or more courses, or make guest appearances in a number of courses and provide at least one major public lecture or performance. Past recipients have catalyzed cross-campus undergraduate and graduate programs, conducted joint projects with Carolina and Duke research centers, taught joint Carolina and Duke courses, and delivered major public addresses.

Instructions on the nomination process can be found on the provost’s website. Nominations should be sent electronically to Questions about the professorship may be addressed to Carol Tresolini or Noah Pickus, co-chairs of the Nannerl Keohane Distinguished Visiting Professorship Joint Advisory Committee. The joint advisory committee shall make its recommendations to the provosts of each institution in January 2019, and the two provosts shall make the final selection.  It is anticipated that a total of four professorships could be awarded for each of the academic years 2019-20 and 2020-21. 

In spring 2020, interdisciplinary scholar Lisa Nakamura of the University of Michigan will be the next Keohane Visiting Professor. She will engage faculty and students at Duke and UNC in a series of conversations focused on Asian/American Studies and the Local/Global South; appropriation of art from the Indigenous and Asian American communities; and opportunities for the digital humanities.

The award was created in 2004 by then-Chancellor Moeser and is funded by Carolina graduate Julian Robertson and his late wife, Josie, of New York, and the William R. Kenan Jr. Charitable Trust.