Skip to main content

Microbiology Society Recognizes Two Duke Researchers

Joseph Heitman and Nicholas Heaton recognized for basic research

The American Society for Microbiology has recognized two Duke researchers with its 2019 ASM Awards. Joseph Heitman, M.D., Ph.D, the chairman of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology in the School of Medicine, is being recognized for his fundamental discoveries in basic research. Nicholas Heaton, Ph.D, an assistant professor in MGM, was recognized for early-career achievements in basic research.