Comments Sought in Regular Review of Undergraduate Admissions Dean Christoph Guttentag

Christoph Guttentag With Christoph Guttentag in his final year of a five-year appointment as dean of undergraduate admissions, Provost Sally Kornbluth has convened a faculty committee to conduct the standard review of his performance and help frame key objectives for the next appointment period.

Reviews are standard procedure for university leaders in the last year of their term. The committee will be chaired by Alex Rosenberg, R. Taylor Cole Professor of Philosophy.

The other members, who were selected in consultation with the Executive Committee of the Academic Council, are:

  • Edna Andrews, professor of Linguistics & Cultural Anthropology, Nancy & Jeffrey Marcus Professor and chair, Linguistics Program
  • Alma Blount, senior lecturer in the Sanford School of Public Policy and director, Hart Leadership Program
  • Harris Cooper, dean of the social sciences and Hugo L. Blomquist Professor, Department of Psychology & Neuroscience
  • Linda Franzoni, professor of the practice, Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science and associate dean of undergraduate education
  • Michael Gustafson, associate professor of the practice of Electrical and Computer Engineering.

Kornbluth has charged the committee to issue a report by March 2.

An important part of the review process is the gathering of opinion from the university's many constituencies. Comments on performance and suggestions for the future are important to the committee's work.

The committee invites individuals to share their thoughts by email or letter. Communication should include the nature of the interactions with Guttentag so that the committee can understand the context of the comments as fully as possible. The committee will discuss responses, and a summary will be included in the written report to the provost. The committee will keep all comments confidential.

For those wishing to submit comments in writing, send them to  If you would prefer to communicate your comments in person or by phone, contact Alex Rosenberg at or 919-660-3047.  Comments should be submitted by Feb. 1.