Appeals Court Decides Not To Reinstate Revised Travel Ban

By a vote of 10-3, federal judges from the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit decided Thursday not to reinstate President Donald Trump’s revised travel ban, which aimed to severely restrict travel from six predominantly Muslim countries.

The ruling means that Duke students, faculty and staff from the countries named in the revised order (Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen) can still enter the United States with a valid visa. Homeland Security personnel will continue inspection of travelers according to its standard policy and procedure.

The first version of the executive order was issued in January and was described as “confusing and disturbing” by Duke President Richard H. Brodhead and Provost Sally Kornbluth and opposed by Duke’s faculty council. At the time, there were 41 students, faculty and staff at Duke from the seven countries listed in the initial order, which was quickly halted by federal court judges.

While a revised order signed in March scaled back some of the restrictions, it too was struck down in federal court

After that ruling was upheld Thursday, the matter will likely end up in the Supreme Court.

For more information about the proposed travel ban or for help with specific questions regarding travel to the U.S., please contact the Duke Visa Services office by email at or by phone at 919-681-8472.