Skip to main content

Five Faculty Named Fellows of American Association for the Advancement of Science

Honor recognizes distinguished contributions

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) has awarded the distinction of Fellow to 401 of its members this year.  Five members of the Duke faculty are being recognized for distinguished scientific and societal efforts.

New Fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue rosette pin during the 2015 AAAS Annual Meeting in San Jose, Calif in February.

The Duke faculty are:

Christopher M. Counter, Professor of Pharmacology and Associate Professor of Radiation Oncology in the Duke Medical School for discoveries of how cancer cells become immortal by telomerase and are transformed by the RAS oncogene.

Drew T. Shindell, professor of climate sciences in the Nicholas School of the Environment, for furthering the science of atmospheric chemistry, climate  variability and climate change, and for outstanding service to the profession and society.

Bruce Alan Sullenger, the Joseph W. and Dorothy W. Beard professor in the department of surgery, Duke Medical School, for contributions to the field of translational medicine and research, including the development of RNA aptamers as controllable ways to prevent blood clotting.

George Alexander Truskey, the R. Eugene and Susie E. Goodson Professor of Biomedical Engineering, for excellence in research, teaching, service, and administration in biomedical engineering.

Fan Wang, associate professor of neurobiology in the Duke Medical School, for contributions to the field of somatosensory perception, particularly for the development of genetic engineering technologies to solve intractable problems.