Three Win NSF Awards for Brain Science

EAGER awards carry $300,000 for two years

Three Duke faculty have won Early Concept Grants for Exploratory Research (EAGER) awards from the National Science Foundation to pursue brain-related research. The awards, which are part of the BRAIN Initiative to accelerate neurotechnologies and brain-related basic science, are for $300,000 over two years. The three awardees are Katherine Heller, assistant professor of statistical science, Ute Hochgeschwender, associate research professor in neurobiology, and Hiro Matsunami, an associate professor of molecular genetics and microbiology. All three are members of the Duke Institute for Brain Sciences.