Duke Announces 2012 Distinguished Professors

21 faculty honored at university ceremony

Duke University has awarded distinguished professorships to 21 members of its faculty.

The professors were recognized last week at a dinner at the Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club. The recipients were as follows:

Trinity Arts & Sciences

-- Miriam Cooke, Braxton Craven Professor of Arab Cultures

-- Bruce Donald, James B. Duke Professor of Computer Science

-- Haiyan Gao, Henry Newson Professor of Physics

-- Rachel Kranton, James B. Duke Professor of Economics

-- Jie Liu, George Barth Geller Professor of Chemistry

-- Thomas Pfau, Alice Mary Baldwin Professor of English


Fuqua School of Business

-- Richard P. Larrick, Michael W. Krzyzewski University Professor in Leadership


School of Law

-- Ralf Michaels, Arthur Larson Professor of Law

-- Joao de Figueiredo, Edward and Ellen Marie Schwarzman Professor of Law

-- Guy-Uriel Charles, Charles S. Rhyne Professor of Law


School of Medicine

-- RuRong Ji, Distinguished Professor of Anesthesiology

-- David S. Warner, Distinguished Professor of Anesthesiology

-- Jennifer S. Li, Beverly C. Morgan Professor of Pediatrics

-- Mariano Garcia-Blanco, Charles D. Watts Professor of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology

-- Stephen G. Lisberger, George Barth Geller Professor for Research in Neurobiology

-- Sarah H. Lisanby, Lawrence C. Katz Professor of Psychiatry

-- Evan Robert Myers, Walter L. Thomas Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology

-- E. William St. Clair, W. Lester Brooks Jr. Professor of Medicine

-- Michael B. Kastan, William W. Shingleton MD Professor Pharmacology and Cancer Biology


Nicholas School of the Environment

-- Susan Lozier, Ronie-Richele Garcia-Johnson Professor of Earth and Ocean Sciences


Pratt School of Engineering

-- William M. Reichert, Edmund T. Pratt, Jr. School Professor of Biomedical Engineering


In addition, nine new inductees in the Bass Society of Fellows for excellence in undergraduate teaching and research were honored. They were:

Trinity College Arts and Sciences 

-- Vincent Conitzer, Sally Dalton Robinson Professor of Computer Science

-- Esther Gabara, E. Blake Byrne Associate Professor of Romance Studies

-- Mark Kruse, Fuchsberg-Levine Family Associate Professor of Physics

-- Scott Huettel, Jerry G. and Patricia Crawford Hubbard Professor of Psychology and Neuroscience

-- Paul Manos, Jack Neely Professor of Biology


Sanford School of Public Policy

-- Judith Kelley, Kevin D. Gorter Associate Professor of Public Policy


Pratt School of Engineering

-- Brian Mann, Jeffrey N. Vinik Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science

-- Daniel Sorin, W.H. Gardner, Jr. Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering 

-- Stefan Zauscher, Sternberg Family Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science