News by Topic

Click on a topic below to see the latest headline

Customize "My Headlines" by Topic

Choose the topics of most interest to you to follow under "My Headlines".


Sign up for newsletters, news feeds, social media and other news sources.

Resources for News Media

Are you a reporter working on a story? Here's where you find help from Duke.

Duke Announces 2014 Distinguished Professors

Duke Announces 2014 Distinguished Professors

37 faculty members recognized

print |

Durham, NC - Duke University has awarded distinguished professorships to 37 members of its faculty.

The professors were recognized at a May 1 dinner at the Washington Duke Inn.

The recipients were as follows:

Trinity Arts & Sciences

-- Mathew McCubbins, Ruth F. DeVarney Professor of Political Science

-- Ashutosh Kotwal, Fritz London Professor of Physics

-- Laura Edwards, Peabody Family Professor of History

-- Fred Nijhout, John Franklin Crowell Professor of Biology

-- Thomas Mitchell-Olds, Newman Ivey White Professor of Biology

-- Alvin L. Crumbliss, University Distinguished Service Professor

-- Harris Cooper, Hugo L. Blomquist Professor of Psychology and Neuroscience

Fuqua School of Business

-- Wilfred Amaldoss, Thomas A. Finch Jr. Professor of Business Administration

-- Alon Brav, Robert L. Dickens Professor of Business Administration

-- Qi Chen, Walter M. Upchurch Jr. Professor of Business Administration

-- Adriano Rampini, John D. Forsyth Professor of Business Administration

-- David Robinson, J. Rex Fuqua Professor of International Management

-- Mohan Venkatachalam, R. J. Reynolds Professor of Business Administration

Pratt School of Engineering

-- Krishnendu Chakrabarty, William H. Younger Professor of Engineering

-- Joseph Izatt, Michael J. Fitzpatrick Professor of Engineering

-- Lingchong You, Paul Ruffin Scarborough Associate Professor of Engineering
School of Medicine

-- Kenneth D. Poss, James B. Duke Professor of Cell Biology

-- Douglas Marchuk, James B. Duke Professor of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology

-- Daniel K. Benjamin Jr., Kiser-Arena Professor of Pediatrics

-- Monica Kraft, Charles Johnson, M.D., Professor of Medicine

-- Christopher M. O'Connor, Richard Sean Stack, M.D./Guidant Foundation Professor of Cardiology

-- W. Daniel Stamer, Joseph A.C. Wadsworth Professor of Ophthalmology

-- Hai Yan, Henry S. Friedman Professor of Neuro-Oncology

-- Benjamin A. Alman, James R. Ubaniak, M.D., Professor of Orthopedic Surgery

-- Thomas A. D’Amico, Gary Hock Professor of Surgery

Divinity School

-- L. Gregory Jones, Ruth W. and A. Morris Williams Jr. Professor of Christian Ministry

-- Grant Wacker, Gilbert T. Rowe Professor of Christian History

School of Nursing

-- Marilyn Oermann, Thelma M. Ingles Professor of Nursing

-- Bei Wu, Pauline Gratz Professor of Nursing

Sanford School of Public Policy

-- Kelly Brownell, Robert L. Flowers Professor of Public Policy

-- Anirudh Krishna, Edgar T. Thompson Professor of Public Policy

School of Law

-- Lawrence G. Baxter, William B. McGuire Professor of the Practice of Law

Bass Professors

-- Rebecca Stein, Nicholas J. and Theresa M. Leonardy Associate Professor of Cultural Anthropology

-- Amilcare Porporato, Addy Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering

-- Heileen Hsu-Kim, Mary Milus Yoh & Harold L. Yoh Jr. Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering

-- Kathy Franz, Alexander F. Hehmeyer Professor of Chemistry

-- Erika Weinthal, Lee Hill Snowdon Professor of Environmental Policy

More Information

Contact: Keith Lawrence
Phone: (919) 681-8059

© 2016 Office of News & Communications
615 Chapel Drive, Box 90563, Durham, NC 27708-0563
(919) 684-2823; After-hours phone (for reporters on deadline): (919) 812-6603

More Information

Contact: Keith Lawrence
Phone: (919) 681-8059