News by Topic

Click on a topic below to see the latest headline

Customize "My Headlines" by Topic

Choose the topics of most interest to you to follow under "My Headlines".


Sign up for newsletters, news feeds, social media and other news sources.

Resources for News Media

Are you a reporter working on a story? Here's where you find help from Duke.

Howell to Chair Committee Searching for New Graduate School Dean

Howell to Chair Committee Searching for New Graduate School Dean

Comments sought in national search; Recommendations are expected by April 1

print |

Durham, NC - Physics Professor Calvin Howell will chair a committee to search for the new dean of the Graduate School to replace the late Jo Rae Wright, who stepped down from the position this past November.

Duke Provost Peter Lange has charged an 11-person committee to lead the national search.  The committee was instructed to look internally and externally for candidates and to focus on the following qualities:

  • an intellectual leader among the faculty who can be expected to have the highest aspirations for the Graduate School, its programs, and the quality of its students,
  • an energetic and conscientious administrator broadly familiar with issues in higher education,
  • a strong advocate for the Graduate School and its teaching and research mission, in the context of the university's strategic commitment to internationalization and interdisciplinarity,
  • a strong proponent for a diverse faculty and student body,
  • an effective fund-raiser,
  • a preeminent university citizen

In addition to Howell, the director of the Triangle Universities Nuclear Laboratory, the other members of the committee are:

Peter Arcidiacono, professor of economics and Duke Population Research Institute; William (Bill) E. Hunt, president & CEO Elmhurst Group and chair of the Graduate School Board of Visitors; Nan Jokerst, J.A. Jones Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering; Chris Kontos, associate professor of pharmacology and cancer biology;

Terry Oas, professor of biochemistry and chemistry; Tom Robisheaux, Fred W. Schaffer Professor of History; Mike Ward, professor and graduate studies director of political science and Director of Graduate Studies, William (Bill) R. Hunt, graduate student in English and Vice President of the GPSC; and two ex-officio members, the Vice President for Institutional Equity Benjamin Reese and the Vice Provost for Research Jim Siedow.

Lange requested that the committee submit recommendations to President Richard H. Brodhead and himself by April 1.  In the interim, David Bell, the former senior associate dean for academic affairs will serve as the Graduate School dean.

The committee is soliciting nominations and applications from members of the Duke community.  Applications received by Feb. 15 will be considered.  Nominations should include a brief description of the relevant qualifications and experience the recommended person would bring to the position. 

Applicants should submit a curriculum vitae/resume and a letter of interest.   Initial correspondence should be sent electronically to Gwendolyn Purnell at, Office of the Provost, Duke University.  Emails should include in the subject line: "Graduate School Dean Search."  Microsoft Word and Adobe PDF files are the preferred format for attachments.