Consultative Committee Appointed for Input on Duke Health Chancellor Role

The committee will be chaired by Gerald Hassell, a trustee of Duke University and director of DUHS. Dr. Allan Kirk, David C. Sabiston, Jr. Distinguished Professor of Surgery and chair of the Department of Surgery within the School of Medicine, will serve as vice chair. Other members are:

  • Sharron Docherty, associate professor, School of Nursing
  • Daniel Ennis, executive vice president, Duke University
  • Howard Francis, Richard Hall Chaney, Sr. Distinguished Professor of Otolaryngology and chair of the Department of Head and Neck Surgery, School of Medicine
  • Scott Gibson, executive vice dean for administration, School of Medicine
  • Kimberly Johnson, professor of medicine, Division of Geriatrics, School of Medicine
  • Manesh Patel, Richard Sean Stack, M.D. Distinguished Professor and chief, Division of Cardiology and Division of Clinical Pharmacology, School of Medicine
  • Nimmi Ramanujam, Robert W. Carr, Jr., Distinguished Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Pratt School of Engineering
  • Moira Rynn, consulting professor and chair, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, School of Medicine 
  • Devdutta Sangvai, Professor in Family Medicine and Community Health; president, Duke Regional Hospital and vice president for population health management, Duke Health
  • Scott Soderling, George Barth Geller Distinguished Professor of Molecular Biology  and chair, Department of Cell Biology, School of Medicine
  • Erika Weinthal, professor of environmental policy and public policy, Nicholas School of the Environment and chair of Academic Council

Associate Provost Noah Pickus will provide additional support for the committee’s work, which will be completed in an expeditious manner to support a smooth leadership transition this summer.