Four Duke Faculty To Join American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Prestigious appointments to 243-year-old institution

Clockwise, new Duke AAAS fellows: Abdullah Antepli, Amy S. Gladfelter, Kenneth Dodge and Margaret Sullivan.

Margaret Sullivan, the Jack and Pamela Egan Visiting Professor in Journalism and Public Policy, Sanford School of Public Policy. Professor Sullivan previously served as the public editor of the New York Times and media critic for The Washington Post. She was the top editor of The Buffalo News for 12 years and is a former member of the Pulitzer Prize Board. She is a weekly columnist with the Guardian US. Her memoir, "Newsroom Confidential: Lessons (and Worries) from an Ink-Stained Life," was published in 2022.

Amy S. Gladfelter, Ph.D., joined the School of Medicine faculty April 13 and will be a full professor in the Department of Cell Biology after July 1. A Duke Ph.D. alumna, she was recruited to Duke from UNC - Chapel Hill as a Science & Technology Scholar. Professor Gladfelter is a Howard Hughes Medical Institute faculty scholar who studies the cell biology of fungi and is working on understanding marine fungal systems. She uses a variety of microscopy and biophysical approaches and her lab is in the Levine Science Research Center.

Duke’s four newest academy members join a long list of notables including President Vincent E. Price and historical figures John Adams, Benjamin Franklin, Alexander Hamilton, George Washington, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Maria Mitchell, and Alexander Graham Bell. Other distinguished members have included Margaret Mead, Jonas Salk, Barbara McClintock, John F. Kennedy, Martin Luther King, Jr., Aaron Copland, Martha Graham, John Hope Franklin, Georgia O’Keeffe, E. O. Wilson, Madeleine Albright, and Colin Powell. The academy’s current members represent innovative thinkers in every field and profession, including more than 250 Nobel and Pulitzer Prize winners.