Trustees hold December Meeting, Re-Visit Strategic Task Forces

The December meeting focused on the Duke and Durham Today and Tomorrow Strategic Task Force of 2020-21. Stelfanie Williams, vice president for Durham & Community Affairs, provided updates and led discussions, along with members of her team and the following university and health system leaders:

  • Debra Clark Jones, associate vice president, Office of Community Health;
  • Susanna Naggie, vice dean for clinical research, School of Medicine, and director of the Duke Clinical and Translational Science Institute (CTSI);
  • Richard Shannon, senior vice president and chief medical officer, Duke University Health System; and
  • Susan Spratt, senior medical director, DUHS Population Health Management Office.

Participants also heard from the following community leaders:

  • John (J.B.) Buxton, president, Durham Technical Community College;
  • Elaine O’Neal, mayor, City of Durham; and
  • Pilar Rocha-Goldberg, president, El Centro Hispano.

A panel discussion on community-engaged scholarship, moderated by Abdullah Antepli, associate vice president/associate vice provost for community-engaged research and & teaching, included the following Duke faculty and student:

  • Ed Balleisen, professor of history and public policy and vice provost for interdisciplinary studies;
  • Robert Calderbank, Charles S. Sydnor Distinguished Professor of Computer Science and director of the Information Initiative;
  • Shaundra (Shani B) Daily, Cue Family Professor of the Practice, Electrical and Computer Engineering and Computer Science; and
  • Kyle MacLellan, undergraduate student.

In recognition of the centennial of both institutions in 2024, members of the Duke University Board of Trustees held a special joint session with the Board of Trustees of The Duke Endowment and took part in the annual reading of James B. Duke’s Indenture of Trust.

In other business, the board:

  • Received updates on the Duke University Health System and facility renewal; and
  • Approved recommendations from the board’s standing committees.