Skip to main content

Comments Sought for Regular Review of Nicholas School Dean Toddi Steelman

Toddi Steelman
Toddi Steelman is in her first five-year term as dean of the Nicholas School of the Environmment.

The provost of Duke University conducts regular reviews of all deans, vice provosts, senior staff, and faculty who have major administrative positions reporting to the provost. Provost Sally Kornbluth has appointed a committee to conduct a review of Toddi Steelman, who is in the fourth year of her five-year term as Dean of the Nicholas School of the Environment.

The committee invites members of the Duke community to comment on the performance of Steelman or on the scope of her activities by email to

Please include a description of the nature of your interactions with Steelman or of the ways in which her work affects your own. Suggestions for constructive changes to the portfolio of the Nicholas School dean are also welcome.

All communications will be treated as confidential, to be shared only with the members of the review committee. An aggregate, anonymized summary will be included in the committee’s written report to the provost. 

The deadline for submitting comments is May 27, 2022*. 

The committee is chaired by Mark Borsuk, Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering.

The other committee members are:

  • Rick Larrick, Hanes Corporation Foundation Distinguished Professor of Business Administration
  • Paul Magwene, Associate Professor of Biology
  • Megan Mullin, Associate Professor of Environmental Politics
  • Doug Nowacek, Randolph K. Repass and Sally-Christine Rodgers University Distinguished Professor of Conservation Technology
  • Alex Pfaff, Professor of Public Policy, Economics and Environment
  • Heather Stapleton, Ronie-Richele Garcia-Johnson Distinguished Professor of Environmental Sciences and Policy
  • Jennifer Swenson, Associate Professor of the Practice of Geospatial Analysis