Ten Undergraduates Selected For University Scholars Program

Recipients share an interest in original research, collaborative thinking and innovative scholarship

Ten incoming undergraduate students have been named University Scholars at Duke University, an award that covers full tuition, room, board and mandatory fees for eight semesters at Duke.

The full value of each scholarship is estimated to be more than $280,000 over four years.

The University Scholars Program includes undergraduate, graduate and professional students who share an interest in original research, collaborative thinking and innovative scholarship. Graduate and professional students will be selected over the coming months.

The Class of 2022 recipients are:

  • Kadriye Sude Almus of Sugar Land, Texas, a graduate of Dulles High School;
  • Keren Ruth Amkraut of Berkeley Heights, New Jersey, a graduate of Governor Livingston High School;
  • Yasser Elmzoudi of Haymarket, Virginia, a graduate of Battlefield High School;
  • Anne Hyun Lee of Staten Island, New York, a graduate of Stuyvesant High School;
  • Andres Montoya Aristizabal of Madison, Alabama, a graduate of James Clemens High School;
  • Natalie Rincon of Palm Harbor, Florida, a graduate of East Lake High School in Tarpon Springs;
  • Muhammad Musa Saleem of Islamabad, Pakistan, a graduate of Beaconhouse Margalla;
  • Dev Seth of Indore, India, a graduate of The Emerald Heights International School;
  • Samantha Nicole Snedeker of Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey, a graduate of Pascack High School in Montvale;
  • Ruhama Ayele Tereda of Sioux Falls, South Dakota, a graduate of Washington High School.

For more information about University Scholars, visit the program's website at https://jhfc.duke.edu/usp/.