Nineteen Selected for A.B. Duke Scholarships

Nineteen high school seniors have been selected to receive the Angier B. Duke Memorial Scholarship, a prestigious merit award for undergraduate studies at Duke University.

The A.B. Duke scholarships provide full tuition, room and board and mandatory fees for four years, as well as a six-week summer study program at the University of Oxford in England. Scholars are also offered up to $5,000 for research or other educational enrichment programs. Based on estimated tuition rates, a scholarship will be worth more than $250,000 to a student over a four-year period.

The scholarships are awarded to outstanding students who show promise of being intellectual leaders. The awards stem from the Angier B. Duke Memorial Inc., established in 1925 by university co-founder Benjamin Newton Duke in memory of his son, Angier Buchanan Duke.

The scholarship's alumni include 18 Rhodes Scholars and 13 Marshall Scholars, including the renowned writer/Duke English professor Reynolds Price; Pulitzer Prize-winning novelist Anne Tyler; NASA project scientist Hal Weaver; and Dr. Lynt Johnson, chief of transplant surgery at Georgetown University Medical Center.

This year's winners are:

-- Eva Elizabeth Arroyo of Elgin, Texas, a graduate of The Khabele School in Austin, Texas, and daughter of Laura Stough and Jorge Arroyo;

-- Suman Bajgain of Kathmandu, Nepal, a graduate of Nasa International H.S.S./College in Nepal, and son of Sushila Bajgain and the late Tirtharaj Bajgain;

-- Carly Noel Bandt of Shoreview, Minn., a graduate of Mounds View High School in Arden Hills, Minn., and daughter of Kami and Brian Brandt;

-- Tristan Henri Bouan of Bretagne, France, a graduate of Mahindra UWC of India in Maharastra, India, and son of Isabelle and Xavier Bouan;

-- Joseph Patrick Branson of Madison, Miss., a graduate of Madison Central High School, and son of Susan and Alan Branson;

-- Elizabeth Anne Brown of Birmingham, Ala., a graduate of Altamont School in Birmingham, and daughter of Haden and Rodney Brown;

-- Lauren Kelly Bunce of Miami, Fla., a graduate of Miami Palmetto Senior High School in Miami, and daughter of Raquel Llobera-Bunce and Andrew Rowland Bunce, Jr.;

-- Kelly Jane Cochran of Odessa, Fla., a graduate of Hillsborough Senior High School in Tampa, Fla., and daughter of Deborah and Scott Cochran;

-- Devavrat Vivek Dabke, of Avon, Conn., a graduate of Avon High School, and son of Vrinda and Vivek Dabke.

-- Caroline Lydia Fernelius of Sugar Land, Texas, a graduate of Dulles High School in Sugar Land, and daughter of Alice and Stephen Fernelius;

-- Aakash Jain of Scottsdale, Ariz., a graduate of Brophy College Preparatory in Phoenix, and son of Bina and Sunil Jain;

>-- Michael Jacob Kiffel of Boca Raton, Fla., a graduate of North Broward Preparatory School in Coconut Creek, Fla., and son of Shirli and Steven Kiffel;

-- Sarina P. Madhavan of Katy, Texas, a graduate of Cinco Ranch High School in Katy, and daughter of Swati and Raghu Madhavan;

-- Thabit Farrukh Pulak of Richardson, Texas, a graduate of Richardson High School, and son of Chowdhury and Mohammad Pulak;

-- Aaron Balazs Rimanyi of Chapel Hill, N.C., a graduate of Carrboro High School in Carrboro, N.C., and son of Agnes Toth and Richard Rimanyi;

-- Sarah Caroline Sibley of Denver, Colo., a graduate of Colorado Academy in Denver, and daughter of Anne Freiberger Sibley and the late Alan Thomas Sibley;

-- Meghana Kasturi Vagwala of Grafton, Mass., a graduate of AMSA Charter School in Marlborough, Mass., and daughter of Manju and Srinivasa Rao Vagwala;

-- Amy Jaclyn Vitha of Valley Stream, N.Y., a graduate of G.W. Hewlett High School in Hewlett, N.Y., and daughter of Judy and John Vitha;

-- Luke Pace Whitten of Dallas, Texas, a graduate of Woodrow Wilson High School in Dallas, and son of Lisa and Jon Whitten.

For more information about the A.B. Duke Memorial Scholarship, visit