2014 Election of New Members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Four members of the Duke University faculty are among the accomplished leaders from academia, business, public affairs, the humanities and the arts who have been elected members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

The new Duke inductees are Susan C. Alberts, a Bass Fellow and professor of biology; Michael Barry Kastan, executive director of the Duke Cancer Institute and the William W. Shingleton MD Professor of Pharmacology and Cancer Biology in School of Medicine; Paula D. McClain, dean of the graduate school and a professor of political science and public policy; and William M. Reddy, the William T. Laprade Professor of History and a professor of cultural anthropology.

In addition to being one of the nation's most prestigious honorary societies, the academy is also a leading center for independent policy research. Members contribute to academy publications and studies of science and technology policy, energy and global security, social policy and American institutions, and the humanities, arts and education.

The new class will be inducted at a ceremony Oct. 11 at the academy's headquarters in Cambridge, Mass. For a list of the other new members, go to https://www.amacad.org/members.aspx.