AMS Names 13 Duke Mathematical Scientists to Initial Class of Fellows

The American Mathematical Society (AMS) has named mathematical scientists from more than 600 institutions to the initial 2013 class of fellows. The program is in its first year and recognizes outstanding contributions to the creation, exposition, advancement, communication and use of mathematics.

Of the 1119 joining AMS as fellows this year, 13 are from Duke. They are: J. Thomas Beale, Hubert Bray, Robert Calderbank, Ingrid Daubechies, Richard Durrett, Richard Hain, Mauro Maggioni, Ezra Miller, Arlie Petters, Michael Reed, Leslie Saper, David A. Smith and Mark Stern.

AMS will honor the new fellows at the Joint Mathematics Meetings in January 2013. Once a fellow of AMS, the inductees will elect the next class, present a "public face" of excellence in mathematics and advise leading society officials on public matters.