Medals at Founders' Day

Von der Heyden, Bonk and others to be honored Thursday at university celebration

Duke Trustee Emeritus Karl von der
Heyden and long-time chemistry professor James Bonk will receive the University
Medal for Distinguished Meritorious Service during the annual Founders' Day
Convocation in Duke Chapel at 4:30 p.m. Thursday, Sept. 22.

Founders' Day celebrates the founding of the university and
provides an opportunity each year for the university to reflect on its history
and heritage and to recognize major contributions by students, faculty,
administrators, employees and alumni. All members of the Duke and Durham
communities are invited to attend.

The University Medal is one of the university's highest
awards.  In 2010, the award went to
Jean Fox O'Barr, founding director of the Duke Women's Studies Program, and Robert
Steel, former chair of the Board of Trustees.

Other honorees this year will include music professor
Anthony Kelley and alumna and trustee emerita Wilhelmina Reuben-Cooke. 

Von der Heyden will deliver the Founders' Day address. A
1962 graduate of Trinity College, von der Heyden is co-chair of The American
Academy in Berlin. A native of Germany, he has been an officer of a number of
companies, including PepsiCo, RJR Nabisco, H.J. Heinz, Pitney-Bowes and Coopers
& Lybrand, as well as a member of the boards of many others.

He joined the Board of Trustees in 1995 and served as a
member of the trustees' executive committee, as well as the boards of visitors
for the Health System and the Fuqua School of Business. He also led the
major-gifts committee for Duke Libraries. In 2000, von der Heyden and his wife,
Mary Ellen, gave Duke $4 million to help renovate and expand the university's

The von der Heydens support to Duke has also encouraged
international endeavors, including a $1 million gift in 1995 to establish the
von der Heyden Fellows Program Endowment Fund, which brings international
corporate, academic and government officials to campus for lectures and
meetings with students and faculty. Fellows have included President Belisario
Betancur of Colombia, President Raul Alfonsin of Argentina and President Miguel
de la Madrid of Mexico.

Over more than four decades, Bonk taught introductory organic
to more than 30,000 Duke students.  The class came to be known as "Bonkistry." He
joined the Duke faculty in 1959 and is still teaching undergraduates in a
course on "Chemistry, Technology and Society."

His contributions go well beyond the classroom. Bonk helped
design the lecture hall and laboratories in Gross Chemistry 40 years ago and
more recently the laboratories in the French Family Science Center. He served
as director of undergraduate studies in chemistry, advised students and managed
independent study. 

In 2001, he received Duke's David and Janet Vaughan Brooks
Distinguished Teaching Award, and in 2010 Trinity College honored him with the
Dean's Distinguished Service Award in recognition of 50 years of extraordinary
teaching at Duke.

Kelley, a 1987 Trinity College graduate, will receive the Alumni
Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching Award. An associate professor of the
practice in Duke's music department, Kelley joined the Duke faculty in 2000
after serving as composer-in-residence with the Richmond Symphony.  He teaches undergraduate courses on
music theory and composition. 
Since 2000, he has been a member of the faculty-in-residence program on
East Campus, first in Southgate and, since 2006, in Brown House.

A law professor at the David A. Clarke School of Law at the
University of the District of Columbia, Reuben-Cooke will receive the
Distinguished Alumni Award. A 1967 graduate, she was one of the first five
African-American undergraduate students to take classes at Duke. Among other
honors, Reuben-Cooke has received the C. Eric Lincoln Distinguished Alumni
Award from Duke's Black Alumni Council. 
She was elected as a Duke trustee in 1989, becoming the first woman of
color to serve in that capacity. 
She served on the board until 2001.  She continues to serve on a number of boards, including that
of The Duke Endowment.

Other faculty awards cited will include:

Christina L. Williams, David and
Janet Vaughan Brooks Trinity College Distinguished Teaching Award;

Richard MacPhail, Robert B. Cox
Trinity College Distinguished Teaching Award;

Michelle Connolly, Howard Johnson
Distinguished Teaching Award;

Elena Maksimova, Richard K. Lublin
Distinguished Award For Teaching Excellence;

Jonathan Dueck,
Award for Excellence in Teaching Writing;

David Malone,
Dean's Distinguished Service Award;

Jonathan Protz,
Klein Family Distinguished Teaching Award at the Pratt School of Engineering;

Daniel Sorin,
Lois and John L. Imhoff Distinguished Teaching Award;

Nimmi Ramanujam,
Stansell Family Distinguished Research Award;

Gregg Trahey,
Capers and Marion McDonald Award for Excellence in Teaching and Research;

Devendra Garg,
Capers and Marion McDonald Award for Excellence in Mentoring and Advising;

Eduardo Bonilla-Silva, Paula D. McClain
and Kristine Stiles
, Dean's
Award for Excellence in Mentoring;

Staff members also will be honored, including:

Christine Adamczyk, Tamara A. Overcash,
Wesley Phillips, Tami Tuck
and Gerald
L. Wilson
received Presidential Awards. Eighteen staff members won Meritorious Service

Jacqueline Terrell and David Walmer won Diversity Awards. Teamwork
Awards went to the DART Analysis Team and the Data Management
Solutions Team.

Others to be honored during the Founders' Day service
include Angier B. Duke Scholars, Benjamin N. Duke Scholars, Karsh International
Scholars, James B. Duke Graduate Fellows, Reginaldo Howard Scholars, University
Scholars, Robertson Scholars, Faculty Scholars, The Duke Endowment Fellows and
many other undergraduate and graduate scholars.