News by Topic

Click on a topic below to see the latest headline

Customize "My Headlines" by Topic

Choose the topics of most interest to you to follow under "My Headlines".


Sign up for newsletters, news feeds, social media and other news sources.

Resources for News Media

Are you a reporter working on a story? Here's where you find help from Duke.

Lischer to Chair Search Committee for New Duke Chapel Dean

Lischer to Chair Search Committee for New Duke Chapel Dean

Committee expected to offer a nominee to replace Rev. Sam Wells by mid-summer

print |

Durham, NC - Richard Lischer, a senior faculty member at the Divinity School, has been appointed by President Richard H. Brodhead to chair a 14-member committee to search for the new dean of Duke Chapel.

The committee is looking to replace the Rev. Dr. Sam Wells, who is leaving Duke at the end of the school year to become vicar of historic St. Martin-in-the-Fields in London.

President Brodhead has charged the search committee to provide him with a short list of recommended candidates by mid-summer 2012.   The objective is to appoint the new dean by the beginning of the 2012 fall semester.

Lischer is James T. Alice Mead Cleland Professor of Preaching and associate dean for faculty development at the Divinity School.  In addition to Lischer, committee members include:

Ashley Crowder Stanley, trustee and executive director, United Methodist Foundation of Western North Carolina; Ben Reese, vice president for institutional equity; Ian Baucom, director, Franklin Humanities Institute and professor of English; Maurice Wallace, associate professor of English and African-American Studies; Warren Smith, associate professor of historical theology, Divinity School; Sujin Pak, assistant professor of the history of Christianity, Divinity School; Zoila Airall, assistant vice president of student affairs for campus life;

Father Mike Martin. director of Duke Catholic Center; Anne Hodges-Copple, rector, Saint Luke's Episcopal Church and former chaplain, Episcopal Center at Duke; Lydia Califf, member, Congregation at Duke Chapel; Brenda Brodie, member, Friends of Duke Chapel; Elizabeth Lester, Trinity Class of 2014; and Walker Robinson, a Duke undergraduate and medical school alumnus and third-year pediatric resident.

The committee is soliciting comments, nominations and applications from members of the Duke community.  Please send any messages by email to or through campus mail to:

Richard Lischer

Chair, Duke Chapel Dean Search Committee

Box 90030

Duke University

© 2016 Office of News & Communications
615 Chapel Drive, Box 90563, Durham, NC 27708-0563
(919) 684-2823; After-hours phone (for reporters on deadline): (919) 812-6603